Honest Tag

honest-scrap

The little trophy says “This award is bestowed upon a fellow blogger whose blog’s content or design is, in the giver’s opinion, brilliant.”

I find it extremely odd that someone would find this neglected blog worthy of such a distinguished award! But thanks to Savvy our prospective PhD candidate I find myself the proud receipient of the Honest Scrap award. I honestly didn’t expect to be found with the low profile I’ve been keeping lately.

First to dispense with the rules!

 You must brag about the award
* You must include the name of the blogger who bestowed the award on you and link back to the blogger
* You must choose a minimum of seven (7) blogs that you find brilliant in content or design.
* Show their names and links and leave a comment informing them that they were prized with Honest Weblog.
* List at least ten (10) honest things about yourself. Then pass it on with the instructions.

Now finding 10 honest things to say about myself is proving to be very very hard (except for #1) but will give it an honest attempt.

  1. I hate Tags; Its not the actual tag that bugs me but the fear of oversharing, I definately try to keep a distance between the image I potray on my blog and my true self. I have heard it said in some places that what a blogger writes in his/her blog is what is in ones inner self but for me the blog is not an accurate picture of myself but just what I was thinking at that particular moment in time.
  2. I am impulsive; Thats why its dangerous to send me to a mall with a blank cheque, from purchases to actual life, work decisions I often find myself acting on impulse and just doing what is on my mind at the moment. Obviously this can cause alot of problems especially where planning or budgeting is required. I started blogging on a whim without thinking what I wanted to do with it and just kept on going and it surprises me that I am still going on albeit at a slower pace. So I don’t really have an Agenda for this blog and I rarely ever plan or draft my posts, I simply get started and just keep on going.
  3. I prefer being in the backgroud; I”m not a particularly outgoing person and even when I am involved in something and even if it is my initiative I won’t want to make a big deal out of it, I know some career advisers will advise againisit keeping your talents in the shadows but as long as I am satisfied with my own work or actions it doesn’t bother me that I’m not blowing the trumpet.
  4. I don’t hate politics but I definately try to keep a calm composure about it after all the less said about the dunderheads that are incharge of our public affairs the better!
  5. I do dudu’s; My proffession involves keeping all manner of pests and diseases away form our greenhouses unfortunately the little critters are always one wing ahead of my efforts. Interestingly this is not what I studied, I happen to be a biochemist so I should be busy exploring metablic pathways and stuff like that.
  6. For a city kid I’m quite comfortable living and working here in shags and it’s not just because life is cheap. I guess I don’t want to be bothered with the hectic pace of life in town, I definately miss the conveniences and the vibrant social life but that can be done on weekends. It’s utterly comforting to be able to walk to the office in less than 10 minutes, have real lunch in your own house, not worry about violent crime etc.
  7. I love gadgets; the only limiting factor is my ability to afford what I really want but it doesn’t stop me from drooling over the specs of the various objects of my affection on the net.
  8. I have a weakness for sweet goodies, chocolate, blackforest, icecream etc. would be the ruin of me if it wasn’t for the unlikeliness of me stumbling upon them too often here in Embu. It makes nonsense of my efforts in taking sugarless tea or coffee lakini I guess I can get 50% for effort
  9. I’m a bit of a couch potato, nothing beats having a good movie in the evening for me, I used to read alot of books when I first moved here because in those days one could only get KBC and the DVD revolution hadn’t hit yet. It’s not a habit I would like to keep but I what is one to do with the long evenings without an easily accesible social outlet.
  10. I’m sensitive and despite keeping a cool and calm exterior will get bruised emotionally very easily. Fortunately I have avoided major heartaches and have always bounced back when I have tripped. I rarely lash out in anger and I have never gotten into a single physical fight in my life. I guess that has kept me safe till now.

Now who to victimize?

Looks like I will have to break that rule! I told you I don’t particularly like this tagging business and most of the people I would have tagged are tagged anyway.

22 Responses

  1. Enjoyed reading that Kirima. @ Number ten aawwww

  2. What, how have you avoided physical fights and you have siblings? Are they monks ama priests? As you can tell I fought away my childhood- third,fourth and fifth world wars were fought between me and my younger brother.Thank God we grew up- I was getting tired id winning all the fights LOL.

    @ number 8- I will get my people to call you. You maye be good for my business.

  3. You just made me realize that i am also an impulse. Never been a planner..

    Good ones

  4. this sounds so like you [or at least the picture i have in my mind of you] 🙂

  5. And I thought I wa weird not to have ever been in a fight before. Kumbe tuko wengi.

  6. No 5 now explains the picture for the dragon fly. We differ on no 8.

  7. I liked reading this. I tagged you because you write well, and because you disappear for too long sometimes.

  8. Yeah, I see I’m also not alone in appreciating village life over the hustle and bustle of the city. I keep fantasizing about being a villager once again-but with access to the internet, at the very least. But unlike you, that’s where I grew up.

  9. I see I’m also not alone in appreciating village life over the hustle and bustle of the city. I keep fantasizing about being a villager once again-but with access to the internet, at the very least. But unlike you, that’s where I grew up.

  10. I envy you your village life. I’d give anything to live in a place away from town. No too far away though and not too difficult to get to town.

    You went to the mountains before the DVD revolution hit?

  11. we share quite a number of these points my friend. who knew!

  12. Wow nice read.

  13. abit late in replying but nice read.

  14. Kwani you are where, it’s been ages!

  15. Interesting list you got there Kirima !

Leave a Reply

