Its all about the Short Skirts!

This past weekend was the first that I had to relax after a long busy season so I didn’t have anything particular on my agenda other than some serious RnR. Fortunately it was a big sporting weekend with the Wimbeldon Finals and British GrandPrix happening. So Saturday afternoon found me at my favourite sportsbar watching the Womens Final at Wimbeldon then I remembered a heated debate last  year about whether it is fair for the women tennis players to win the same amount of prize money  as the men yet they played only best of 3 sets while men played 5 sets. This may look like the prize is skewed in favour of the women players and I was inclined to agree with that line of reasoning but on serious thought I now agree that it is fair that they get equal share of the purse.

My reasoning for this is due to the fact that for most sporting tournaments the majority of the revenue is from television rights and media coverage hence it is the number of spectators that a sport can attract not the physical exertion on the field or the length of the game (if that was the case cricket players would be the highest paid!) In all honesty womens tennis tends to get much more coverage in the sports pages and more so in the pictures, hence my blog title – the short skirts must have something to do with it!

To the actual game it was a great pleasure to see the Williams sisters in the finals again I am a big fan of Venus especially (and its not just about the the thighs!) she never gives up on a shot and knowing how Serena can be a big hitter it was quite a captivating match up. Sadly I missed the Mens final between Federer and Nadal it seems to me that those two have been so dominant in mens Tennis lately such that it is either one or the other winning the Grand Slams.

BLAME IT ON THE WEATHER

Again I missed the British Grandprix at Silverstone I kinda expected it to be like the French grandprix which despite my team Ferarri winning was quite a drab affair with the two Ferarris like 15 seconds ahead of all the rest but unfortunately it was not to be. I have to give it to Lewis Hamilton for showing such tenacity to win the race despite qualifying in fourth position, He almost took the lead at the first turn! Ferarri on the other had made a serious tactical error by failing to fit Raikonnens car with fresh wet tyres after which it promptly started raining. The consequences for Kimi were tragic with catastrophic grip failure now the championship is a 3 way race which should lead to very exciting races in the second half of the championship. If only Hamilton could drive a Ferarri the kid would be unbeatable!!!

Finally after contemplating a Hiatus I have retracted and now looking forward to some leave days (weeks!) so anyone with some plots to do in the cold July month please share.

15 Responses

  1. You had me at Short skirts! LOL

    I had to get your attention! and it worked 😀

  2. @ XS – me not surprised at all.

    Watched the Serena sisters and yes, that was good playing.

    Dare I ask, just how many weeks you have off this time round? Five AGAIN?!?

    Five only? is what I am asking considering my stress levels. LOL

  3. Ati Hamilton in a Ferrari?? Ha! You got jokes! We’ve got him on a lifetime contract! I feel kinda stupid to admit this, but it’s only after watching last night’s Sports News that I realized that the McLaren Mercedes MP4-23 is bila the kawaida bull-horns! That shows how long it’s been since I watched an F1 race.

    We can always hope but I wonder how long he can sustain the pressure he was brilliant in Monte Carlo as well.

  4. me i have ideas about july, and august. they might be deemed unacceptable though.

    How unacceptable oh intelligent one?

  5. Well toned thighs are quite something. Even we ladies appreciate that lol. No wonder the tennis sisters have no problem baring them.

    Thank you for your Honesty!!!!!

  6. Archer: Kimi had to do damage limitation and to end up in 4th, was as good as a win, given that he was a lap down. Mclaren have not had any engine gremlines yet, which may happen later in the year. Have to hand it to Kimi for wet-race dominance this year

    The poor choice of tyres was to blame as well as the atrocious british weather

  7. Thanks to a good friend i know a little more about tennis after watching Nadal and Federer go at it.

    Do watch some more you might end up liking it.

  8. Talking of skirt matters, I am just freaked out by Williams’ muscles!!(Lets not even talk of the tighs, too masculine).But am a grest fun.
    Hamilton is good there, maybe his lucky charm,who knows?
    Just meeting your blog,and liking it,hence blogroll!

    some of us guys are partial to well toned thighs! 🙂
    Thanks for the visit and Karibu tena

  9. I enjoyed the both matches to the fullest. July try bunge jumping.

    Will pass on Bungee jumping for now lakini won’t rule it out I might need to commit………. one day LOL

  10. It is better then watching Nadal pick at his ass–get bigger pants of take the extra tight underwear off and let the business hang.

    Wouldn’t you rather see Venus pick hers LOL!

  11. That Nadal Federer match was quite something! As for the short skirts …well … 😀

    It was an interesting match up! …….Speechless for once 🙂

  12. Short skirts. For 99% of straight guys, this is the ONLY reason to watch tennis or ice skating!

    hehehe! those iceskating ones aren’t they special?

  13. so that’s why you ‘love’ the game?

    I only wish that Anna Ivanovic was in the final. Unlike her Anna Kournikova she actually wins tournaments!

    that!!! among others 🙂

  14. Maria Sharapova and her legs are the main attraction in those tournaments, and kina williams sisters

    i recommend you watch the comebacks, the movie. interesting barbs about tennis..

    Hope I remember that movie, I actually enjoy the tennis but the legs make the womens version that bit more interesting

  15. I need eucation on Tennis, though I can follow it when Sharapova is playing. As for Formula One… anything with Ferrari rocks…

    Tell Archer to forget Mclaren taking the championship, Watching Sharapova is a good way of getting Tennis lessons keep it up.

Leave a Reply

