Its been a while

Its been a while since I put up a post on the blog this has been due to a few things I needed to catch up at work and of course the distractions due to the Easter Holidays.

First off I thoroughly enjoyed the Easter Weekend, I initially didn’t have very high expectations or plans and that it fell on the wrong time of the month I still managed to enjoy myself and relax with some friends, I also ventured to a Mugithi night somewhere in Central, its been a while since I did that but it was thoroughly enjoyable, the company was also great.

Sports wise the weekend was also great with my Formula one team Ferrari back to winning ways after that fiasco in the Australian Grand Prix it was a relief for me to see Kimi Raikonnen win in Malaysia I expect a very tough season this year especially with Lewis Hamilton expected to mature a little bit more and the lack of traction control and computerized driving aids will definitely add to the excitement. Onto Football this year my cheering for Man U has been muted on this blog due to the up and down nature of the league but after the great weekend I can fully don my red jersey and make some noise. The league is not yet won but at this stage it feels good to be in pole position.

On the geek computer side I am still learning the ropes of Ubuntu on my computer, I have now installed more memory on the system which has vastly improved the perfomance of the computer and I can happily report that I don’t see myself going back to MS Windows anytime soon. To help with the transition I installed the Wine application which enables me to install and run Windows apps this is quite a help since I still need to access some office files and I don’t want to tamper with the formats. Additionally I have also installed the KDE desktop which allows me to log into a Kubuntu session so I am now currently comparing which desktop environment I would prefer to use permantently.

Otherwise for those who have been missing the posts from the mountainside now I am back.

13 Responses

  1. Welcome back? Buntu or none. 🙂 Nice blog.

    Thank you and welcome

  2. welcome back ye mountain…enyewe you had kept us on the leeward side for long…heheheheheh…

    Yeah and its also lonely at the top 🙂

  3. Werrokamu mback

    Thengiu

  4. Karibu bwana. Its been a minute.

    I am still to check out Ubuntu

    Feels more like a year.

  5. Good to see you’re back. Welcome.

    Thank you will try and stick around

  6. thank god

    Thank you and welcome here

  7. About time you got back here. Haven’t mugiithi’d in a while though i thoroughly enjoy it.

    Even myself I thought that it was a fad that was over but apparently it still kicks

  8. Good to see you agin on blogsphere. Waiting for more…

    Such high expectations………………….now what to write?

  9. he strikes again. about time too!

    Will try and strike again

  10. Ubuntu heh? Hmmm

    Yeah if it was in kimeru wouldn’t it be Umuntu

  11. Hahaha, they had Mugiithi night at a local bar a few nights ago… it was quite something to see jackets flying as folks “shook their tail feathers”.

    LOL there is something primal about mugithi, I am one of those dudes who normally go out and just sit at the bar and watch the scenery and nod my head to the music but with mugithi it actually draws you to the dance floor and you even get carried away and sing along

  12. oh, and welcome back.

    Thanx

  13. Aha, karibu tena. Now more posts on this ubuntu and kubuntu thing. I’m trying it out kidogo kidogo. I am afraid of change so I am not done with windows XP yet, lest Ubuntu becomes like Vista.

    It requires a leap of faith to jump into it but once you are there you wonder how you got along without it. I doubt if it can become like Vista.

Leave a Reply

