Mount Ubuntu!

After weeks of Trial and Error I have finally managed to erase Microsoft Windows from my laptop and replace it with the Linux Based Ubuntu operating system. I will be the first to admit that I am not a computer geek but several problems with viruses and missing drivers had made my laptop all but useless resulting in my decision to plunge into the world of the unknown.

Armed with only an Ubuntu Live CD and several hours of browsing the documentation on the web I decided to take the plunge and just get rid of Windows all together, I had first considered partitioning the hard disk but then on second thought realised that the hard disk was too small for that and it seemed like such a complicated procedure. The second hurdle was the lack of enough memory on my system to run live CD since I couldn’t get my hands on additonal RAM I had to consider the other option of getting the software and that was by Downloading the Alternate-CD from the Ubuntu website which is no mean task since we are talking about 700 Megabytes. Fortunately in the office there are very few internet users after work so one evening after spending 3 hours downloading the entire CD image file and a CD image file burner I was ready to go.

I had already backed up all the useful files on my office desktop so after taking a deep breath and waving Bill Gates goodbye I put in the CD and rebooted the computer after a few questions and less than an hour later I was the proud owner of an brand new Ubuntu powered machine.

No doubt I face a steep learning curve since I have never used any other OS other that MS Windows but 2 days later I think I can hack it, still getting the hang of all these APT, Terminal and SUDO stuff so you will bear with me as this migration is taking almost all my free computing minutes. Todays task was getting MP3 and DVD playback operational.

I hear there is some tagging manenos going on out there in blogosphere so I will lie low as I contemplate the implications.

11 Responses

  1. Congratulations!

    (it reminds me of that via-Skunkworks .ke link http://linuxondesktop.blogspot.com/2007/11/creating-your-ultimate-ubuntu-710.html from earlier in January 🙂

    I will have to stick to WinXPP though and will only run Ubuntu via VNC for the time being. Maybe it takes such a desperate situation (viruses, older computer) to eventually switch to the better alternative…

    Thanks for that link it was quite useful, I,m finding Ubuntu quite interesting maybe even if I upgrade my comp might just stick with it.

  2. ubuntu is the way

    I have been using ubuntu almost for a year now and I have no regrets
    whatsoever. By the time people get to realise that microsoft has not
    been performing while the still charge for software guys like me will
    be miles away.. everytime I see a windows machine or anything .exe
    I wanna puke, I have ubuntu in my usb sticks and use em everytime I want on anybodys machine and they are like what program is that and how come my comp performs better when you put your stuff? Thing is enthough
    pc’s are well designed microsoft operating system drags it down
    by clogging the veins. ubuntu linux gives life to old pcs and is updated
    100 times often than microsoft.

    I still rank myself as a newbie, I run alpha and beta versions whenever
    they appear just remembering to backup beforehand. most fear
    linux coz they think they have to learn lots of code and stuf but the info in ubuntu forums is enough to turn you into a pro with practice.

    In my OWN opinion anyone using windows is fucked and not willing
    to admit, because ask yourself, why should I by something that can be crushed esspecially by the seller….. linux is freedom

    At first I used to believe that all the Linux is Free story was just hype but now I realise I can get every application that I will ever need for free, I didn’t know you can run Ubuntu on a memory stick, I taught myself to use open office by installing it through Portableapps on my memory stick.

  3. Ooooh Agooose! what have you done?
    Ok this ubuntu thing seems to be for real! eeh. hebu email me loessons!

    LOL! this is something I have been contemplating for a long time now with alot of persuation from some skunkworks gurus. You can get all the documentation on http://www.ubuntu.com

  4. not you as well. but I came here to say, “sii you were tagged”

    Now you sneak up on me and do what? Ok will do.

  5. alright…

    na hapa pia nimepitwa kama basi….okay now i HAVE to google ubuntu and see what this craze is.

    but so long as it works for you, good on you!

    na hakuna kulie low, mountains can’t…

    Google away, LOL ati I can’t lie low just try me 😉

  6. I’ll get back when normal English posts resume. Ubuntu though means black brotherhood down here. What does it mean on your laptop?

    Yeah its a South African word meaning Humanity or something like that its all about software built, shared and supported by the community- Yaani its all free that should be enough to entice you.

  7. Download Ubuntu and its KDE sister Kubuntu for free here:

    http://www.ubuntu.com/

    http://www.kubuntu.org/

    Thanks for providing the links.

  8. @bomseh, I thought it was a branch of that NGO- Abantu

    ha ha ha!

  9. Good for you! World domination is happening one person at a time :).

  10. I just got the Ubuntu CD recently. I will be trying it sometime tonight.

  11. Strong is the FOSS within you

Leave a Reply

