Off Season!

Lately I have been skipping the blogging scene, not for lack of interest but rather for lack of time. I am only able to zip through the latest posts and leave some quick incoherent remarks on some of your pages. What strikes me particularly about KBW at this time is the extraordinary number of election posts on the aggeregator every day I know elections only come every 5 years but seriously we should have more interesting stuff  (especially now that Mwalimu Xs has taken his maneno of pale pale on hiatus) maybe thats why I am not feeling the Christmas vibe yet which should be kicking in about now.

I don’t mind peeps debating political issues in all the media including their blogs but what I can absolutely not stand are all those email forwards going around (some of them with viruses!) masquarading as support for so and so but inactual fact are just hate mail and slander. I don’t get how I am supposed to make an informed choice when someone just decides to send scandalous allegations, doctored docuements and photoshoped pictures to mudsling someone they don’t agree with. My position on this is to delete all such emails without opening, I absolutely NEVER forward such emails.

The Election fever has also had a major impact on the TV  with almost all the stations competing to bring us live footage of every launch and relaunch of campaigns, manifestos and all that. Add onto that the various discussion programs, call in shows and debates daily on TV which incidentally feature the same old ‘experts’ and ‘political commentators’ and you realize that there is very little option on TV. I have tried to keep myself busy with movies and reading a book here and there cos every time I switch on the TV all I get is people argueing and news fo people fighting over petty issues which is depressing! Don’t get me wrong I know it is important for people to be informed in order to make a wise decision but for me I have had more than enough of it to know that the real issues have been totally forgotten and what matters today are just regional politics and I am not likely to be easily swayed by all those promises being bandied around. (Feel free to call me a sceptic but I have to see to believe! I have been dissappointed before.)

On less depressing matters I have managed to get two movies I have been eagerly awaiting. I missed their theatrical release earlier in the year and I had to wait for the DVD release in October. I don’t buy those bootleg – camera copy- 9 in one DVD’s sold in the streets for movies which I consider to be keepers since for me there is no point in investing in a good home theatre system then resorting to watch grainy poor pictures and extremely poor sound.

 300

300film1.jpg

Since I watched Sin City I have been hooked to Frank Millers stories and was very sad when the movie run ended before I could watch it on the big screen. When I watched in on DVD I wasn’t dissappointed at all, some critics have said that the director sacrificied the characterization in favour of the special effects but for me I say its all good because when you are watching a movie adapted from a graphic novel what you want is the action. The story however was also very powerful as well, I particulary liked the Spartan one liners which made what should be a very dark and gory movie actually quite funny as well like when the Spartans are asked to lay down their weapons by the Persians and Leonidas tell to “Come and get them”. The movie doesn’t have a fairy tell happy ending but that is because it is actually based on true tale.

The effects were out of this world I couldn’t get over how fit all the men looked with all those tight abs and prominent 6 packs. Having been shot almost entirely againist a Blue screen the backgrounds were all computer generated which helped give the movie an ancient look and appeal. The relentless battle scenes especially the slow motion sword fights were a delight to watch I don’t normally like excess violence but this one was done in an artistic and it was almost like a vicious dance.

I wouldn’t hesitate watching this movie over and over again and it has me eagerly awaiting Sin City 2 which is due for release next year.

Die Hard 4.0 – Live Free or Die Hard.

diehard40poster.jpg

I have been waiting to watch this movie since EGM reviewed it earlier in the year being a big fan of John Mclane since the days of the first Die Hard at the na Nakatomi plaza. The brutal violence coupled with the witty humour of Bruce Willis definatly provides a pleasant mix that will leave even non actions movie fans quite happy. I was surprissed when I heard that Bruce was going to reprise the role and don the dirty vest once again after so much years and this made me quite sceptical since I couldn’t believe  that he could still pull of an intense action role. I was pleasantly surprised however by the great reviews the movie got and after watching it I can confirm it is one hell of a cracker.

I am also keenly watching my mailbox for two more movies that I have already ordered, the first I have already watched Pirates of the Caribean 3 but being a total fan I just wanted to complete my collection and have all three. The second is The Bourne Ultimatum which is due for DVD release on Dec. 10 so I have to wait a bit longer but since it doesn’t look like I will be able to catch it in the theatres before the run closes.

As I mentioned earlier the state of local TV is quite boring and may remain so until after elections so I decided to make a long delayed move and get DSTV for my digs albeit only the compact package but with the current offer its quite a good dea and after evaluating what GTV has to offer which is not much apart from Premier League Football which is always much better to watch in a pub despite the loud Arsenal fans who have colonized them so  I don’t have to suffer flipping channels in the evening to look for one that doesn’t have a talk show. Maybe when the Champions league seasons heats up, Formula one, Tennis and Euro 2008 start next year I may be tempted to switch to the premium package.

So with all these movies plus 33 new channels and the blog pals who are not on the campaign trail I just might be able to survive this Holiday/Campaign period without dying of boredom.

20 Responses

  1. Am 1st? really? waaaa
    sasa Kirima?

    Niko poa and yes you are first

    those political blogs are just tooo much.
    When you find bourne ultimatum please pirate me a copy

    Haiya! Ironically I don’t do pirating but I can allow you to back it up for me. 🙂

  2. I like your choice of movies. Then me for other reasons i gave up my subsription, i shall try and stay sane with the internet and series on dvd, a few movies would not hurt too. I forsee a lot of reading too since if what i have seen on Terrestrial TV so far is what i have for entertainment…..

    I also hope to put in some reading as well, TV is just too boring right now.

  3. Atleast you are doing sane posts. Lakini your choice of movies, I tried but seems that they are just not my type. Anyway, are you voting? Rusha kura yako hapa nione.

    I will definately vote, I can’t wait for the opportunity some fella who has been just eating my hard earned chums and sleeping in parliament

  4. yea your choice of movie….lets just say slept into the 30th minute of pirates of the carribean…maybe because i hadnt watched 1& 2? 🙂

    Gasp!

    as for the politics i cant wait for next year…just today i got a remix for ali kibas song “cindelela” done in support for naJib N raila not once but five freaking times!!!what is possesing people.

    Ati Cinderella? LOL! I haven’t heard that one only the Banjuka thingy I wonder what will happen to all those CD’s come next year especially if the praised fella flops.

    i was in your hood over the weekend .beautiful place si you send ur address like this i gate crash next time….

    You’re welcome!

  5. Sin City was GREAT, I can watch it over and over again. 300 was good too wish you had seen it on the big screen.

    on propaganda, its just easier to ignore it.

    I watch it over and over again, I have the DVD. I always ignore the propaganda!

  6. what time do guys get to watch movies.. to me movies is only when i want to literally kill 2 hours.. thats rare

    Boss you must be lucky to have a full social diary, hazards of where I live is that there is pretty not much to do after work.

  7. there’s sin city 2? timam, lakini that release date is like in the future man…sin city was the politest…

    i’m feeling you on the politics and propaganda stuff…iishe na maisha, kazi, (labda uzee) iendelee…

    haha ati you don’t those chinese copies where the voice trails the action?

    I can’t struggle to watch a movie where the sound is not in synch with the action those are just the worst. I know it is expensive to get originals but trust me the experience is well worth it if you can’t afford to buy try a video lib like mo moviez

  8. Siasa mbaya kabisa!!!Television and newspapers crap!!! Movies anf books are the only way to go this season
    300 was deadly….Die hard 4.0 to die for….eagerly waiting for sin city 2

    I can see tuko wengi waiting for Sin city so I hope thats a date. 😉

  9. Yeah, I have to admit at first politics interested me, bt nowdays it just saxs espec when I have to watch da violence it’s causin..at this time I just dont care who makes it as long as peace can return..There juz so many innocent people sufferin coz of this & it aint just fair.

  10. I still can’t believe how I missed 300 and Die hard on big screen!
    The Bourne Ultimatum is too deadly catch it on big screen if you can, it’ more like the first in that there’s more action, I found the 2nd one a bit too slow.
    Your Sin City has already been ‘backed- up’ 🙂

  11. I will put up my gift list!!! Will that help?

  12. i cant stand politics! i know..it affects me bla bla yada yada but paliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiz..i see a political post and i skip to soma comments lol..

    sin city 2? keul..when are we going?

  13. LOL, yenyewe hiatus lazima! Let me work on somethng….. or invite Super for anaa collabo!

  14. ebu post!

  15. I have occasionaly blogged abt politics but yenyewe, I got tired, I dont want anything to do with it anymore. Atleast until I declare interest in some seat some certain number of years to come… I stopped buying papers and nowadays, I watch 1/4 of a movie every news hour, then continue the next until I maliza…

    And about the movies, I penda ur taste, but I also love the dance and song movies twisted along with some penzi story…

  16. enyewe those politoc things are too much.these daiz i dont even go to that page rather i go to indivdual blogs…
    and u mean you buy orijinozzz…phew! thats unheard off in mtaa..but the mountain is not kwa mtaa..so..kewl..
    cheerz man.

  17. Thanks for your comments on my page. There is a lot of political talk right now. I’m a bit apathetic coz I won’t be voting this year. I’m not even really sure what a lot of people stand for despite all their talk. I have a couple of relaz who hope to get on the ballot so I support them in spirit. After all, the only way to benefit is when one of your own is in the August House, tragic but, Oh well….

  18. Die Hard 4.0
    what i loved about it was that it was pure old school. i felt like i was in priry school again. simple story line filled with action and cheap humor what more could u ask

    i caught it big screen and boy oh boy. bruce willis did justice to this movie

    was not amused it was beat at the box office by a cartoon but thats by gones

    this year BRUTAL violence seems to be the in thing down right nasty and graphic and die hard totally delivered.

    It has been a while since the box office rocked with great movies like this year.

  19. Ditto on politics.

    Haven’t seen 300 yet, even though I had a chance to. Don’t know why it didn’t appeal to me. But Die Hard, that one rocked!

    300 is a bit violent but doesn’t betray the story. Yeah Die Hard rocked major.

Leave a Reply

